Hiroshima

by Jolyn Low

I’m going to be uploading a series of posts about my trip to Japan. It’s nothing much, probably just a little log about what I did/where I’ve been. Life’s been pretty boring these days. I’ve spent my days and nights reading. I love to read.

Anyway, as the post title suggests, this post would be about Hiroshima.

Its probably best known for being one of the bomb sites during the world war. Famous for a tragedy.

So once the flight landed we got a JR Railway Pass for 7 days and hopped onto the first train bound for Tokyo. Then we changed trains and headed towards Shin-Osaka before taking one last train to Hiroshima. 3 trains, a total of around 4 hours of being on trains. Add that to a really messed up flight and I was exhausted, sleeping through most of the train rides.

We arrived at Hiroshima around 3 in the afternoon. Stayed at the Hotel Gravia connected to the station which made baggage transfer a breeze. The hotel was really comfortable and provided everything. It’s not the newest but it was really value for money I guess.

Then we took a free shuttle that went around Hiroshima’s attractions which were unsurprisingly centred around the bomb. Pretty neat. So we stopped at the dome(?) and since it was late (the sun set whilst we were there) we only managed to cover that.

image

image

image

image

The view from the 20th floor.

After the dome, we walked along the river till we arrived at the main street. There was a huge light up in lieu of Christmas with like a gazillion lights down the entire stretch spanning quite a few blocks. After that we just headed back to crash.

Day 2 was spent checking out of the Hotel and heading for Miyajima. It’s a small isle off the mainland where deer roam free. It’s really beautiful but honestly a tad too touristy. We took a train to the station before taking the yacht there.

There are deer literally everywhere but they’re kind of spoilt and too acclimatised to humans in my opinion. They would nibble on your paper/plastic items (how dare they) and people just feed them.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This deer looks pretty drunk. We were walking back down from the pagoda via some back stairs and spotted these two. Damn well camouflaged and almost missed them.

Then we went about the shops and had oysters haaaa tried finding the one that was apparently really good but couldn’t find it. But we had oysters with cheese which was delicious. Even for someone who dislikes/has never tried much seafood before.

We then hopped back into a ferry and had lunch at a random restaurant. From the main station we headed to Osaka and just checked into our hotel. Mitsui Garden (another chain) and it had a spa!

Headed out for dinner at some food street (I forgot the name) and had ramen which was hardly of standard. Seems like my ramen craving is never going to be satisfied. Once we got back I headed out to the hot spring alone yay for my nudist tendencies. Kidding but there’s really nothing that exciting/strange about it it’s just a norm now because I guess I’ve been doing it since young so being naked and around other ladies isn’t a problem at all. The hot water really helps in the winter and it’s a relief to have such spas in hotels to be honest.

I shall continue next time.

