Resolutions for 2015

by Jolyn Low

wpid-imag0742.jpg

It is the last day of 2015 and I’ve decided to jot down my resolutions for the year. You’re probably thinking “why the hell is she doing this after 1/12 of the year has gone by?”. Well, I’ve been busy living my life and deciding what needs to be done. I’m still in my transition phase – pruning my life. I’m clearing out things that do not matter, people, as well as bad habits. I’m practicing, learning and teaching. I’m adjusting so that I can live the life I want to lead. So that I can fulfil myself. Sounds pretty selfish, doesn’t it? But that’s what everyone is.

Anyway, here are 3 things that I want to fulfil this year.

1. To take care of myself
That means I will take a day off whenever I need to to reevaluate and to relax. To do what makes my soul sing. To take care of my body that I’m blessed with. To do so also means keeping fit and healthy. A healthy mind comes with a healthy body and healthy habits.

2. To stop caring
I care too much about what others think about me. It scares me. It makes me afraid to do things. It gets me down. I will stop judging. I’ll be more understanding, and I will build up that confidence.

3. To push myself to do/achieve what I want to
I will decide what is best for myself. I will make a decision that I am satisfied with. I will be more financially independent, weaning off my parents. If I want something, I’ll just have to go for it. I’m trying to brush up on my Chinese, so I am. I want to learn a dialect – so I will. I would like to pick up another language – so I’m doing that now.

And that would be enough for me. 2015 will be a better year.

image

