Read: A Game of Thrones

by Jolyn Low

During my recent trip to Bangkok, Thailand, I decided to browse through the Kinokuniya at Siam. It was a pretty random decision, but ended with a nice surprise. I’d always wanted to read and watch the Game of Thrones. It was partially due to the hype around it and a need to find something to read. I started watching the series last year, finishing 7 episodes of season 1 at a go because it just sucked me in despite knowing nuts about the story. Hence, at such an apt timing (having a long-ass break before university begins and the books being sold at a relatively cheaper price), I decided to start reading.

At first, I was confused as hell as the novel takes place on such a grand scale. The several different houses and the numerous characters associated with each intimidated me at first. It was reminiscent of a Dicken’s novel, with a whole boatload of characters that were all subtly linked. Likewise, George R.R. Martin slowly unravels the world where this game of thrones takes place, introducing characters and slowly uncovering old and newer plots in the tale. The changing perspectives in every chapter also aided the characterization of each character immensely, the numerous characters becoming more distinctive as the chapters go by. It also leads to an interesting way of uncovering what is going on and the various side’s perspectives. I would really like to have a chapter of what is going on in Cersei or Jaime’s mind though those twins are insane.

The one thing that I tried to probe but still cannot comprehend is about the desire for one to take the iron throne. Maybe its due to a personal reason but I don’t understand the lust for power and control. The entire land seems so divided and messed up to me that it makes no sense to be ruler of a kingdom. What good comes from that anyway? And it seems like a terrible sham. Comical even, when you think of how Robert was a lousy as hell king and Joffrey is this little boy sulking and playing games on the throne. What does it really mean to be king anyway?

It’s just the beginning of the series but it’s off to a flying start. I’ve no idea what’s going to be coming up next but I can’t wait. The unpredictability makes it an exciting read (or maybe I just have little to no foresight and can’t pick up foreshadowing well enough).

