The worst is yet to come

by Jolyn Low

Yesterday was pay day (hurrah!) and I was given the opportunity to take on another subject. That would mean that I can hit a certain goal of mine and possibly save more, which tempts me so badly. But it’s also beginning to dawn on me how much work I need to do every single week for school. I’m overloading and although I’m slacking in certain modules it’s no excuse not to give my best for everything. Readings are driving me insane – think 30 pages a week for 6 modules on top of tutorials and other group work. Three of my week day nights are effectively gone now due to work commitments and cca. My weekends are also pretty packed. I’m really not too sure what I should do. On one hand it’ll be nice to have extra cash (short term gain) but on the other my studies are my priority (long term gain?). I’ll probably mull over it and let the client know soon.

Tutorials have begun and it’s been pretty interesting so far. I quite enjoy meeting new people and chit-chatting about random things, really. Thankfully most of the art modules are generally enjoyable and have relatively manageable workloads and less class participation (hate it but life goes on). On the other hand I sense that one of my other modules is going to be one hell of a content-heavy but interesting ride.

Driving is ending soon and I’m so relieved that I passed the final evaluation yesterday! I was stressed out and pissed off the moment I set off on the test route because of some mistakes I made. It snowballed from me being upset over a really stupid thing to making mistakes lane changing and all. Hopefully, in 3 weeks I’ll get my license and wreck some havoc.

