95 days

by Jolyn Low

I’ve been stepping out of my comfort zone in many ways. I’ve started actively going out and doing things, meeting new people and just putting myself out there. To be very honest I’m quite happy alone but it is nice to be around others for comfort and free food (lol).

I have so much to be grateful for – fantastic friends who have helped me over the breakup, asking me out for evening walks to the farm where we would pat the horses and I would forget everything for an hour or so. Last weekend I volunteered at a dog agility trail and learnt how to scribe, meeting new people and seeing how fantastic the pet-owner bond can be. I swore that if Honey was here I would get a clear round because you know, best bond ever. Lessons at the farm are fun as well. We would line up and guess the weight of a cow or sheep, and I always get it pretty wrong. The little goat that I carried was so sweet. A lot of good has come out of these dark times, and for that I am so thankful.

The world is so vast that I’d be stupid not to try everything whilst I’m here away from home. I have some very big dreams. And to think I’ve already done so many things that my 18 year old self would never have imagined accomplishing. I would remember so much when I return home eventually.

I bought a Father’s Day card for my dad because its celebrated September 4 here down under. It’s the first card that I’ve given him in over a decade and I hope he likes it.

And it helps that a lot is going on – signed up for farm experience and all for next year already. I can’t wait to see what else is in store.

