A week in Singapore

by Jolyn Low

I haven’t written in a while, and that is because I have been home and trying to spend time with the people that matter to me. The past 10 days have whizzed by so quickly, and I have been immensely satisfied with the ways my days have been spent.

Over the past 10 days I have:

  • Met the bestie for dessert and had a wonderful conversation at a park that reminds me of my childhood, before catching the last bus home
  • Watched Fantastic Beasts
  • Gotten my combat boots
  • Shopped (!)
  • Lounged around at fancy places with my cousin
  • Got kaya toast
  • Visited the Science Centre for the Avenger’s exhibit
  • Got a Groot collectible keychain that would be used for my future car keys
  • Bubble tea
  • Laksa and a nice chat with old mates
  • Watched One Day with Sherz
  • Watched Suicide Squad and loved Harley Quinn
  • Gone for a day trip to Pontian and saw a fish market, how fascinating!
  • Feasted on lobsters, crabs, squid, fish and suckling pig
  • Caught up on an episode of Running Man – good old times :’)
  • Cooked up a feast with Sherryl at my place and chilled
  • Messed around with Tinder for a day whilst tipsy
  • Had my favourite Bak Chor Mee and tea
  • Another wonderfully stimulating conversation with a friend
  • Did some last-minute shopping and had dinner with the cousin again

The conversations that I can have till the latest of nights are the things that I live for – it’s like baring your soul to another with no fear of rejection or betrayal, and I long to have these conversations for a long time to come. I have felt so loved this time back, and I appreciate all those who have taken the time to meet up, be it for a meal or just with the intention of spending some time together. It is funny how some things never really change despite the insanely different experiences we all put ourselves through every single day. I am so insanely lucky to have these people I can just be myself with. Unforgivingly, unadulteratedly me.

Tomorrow, in the wee hours of the morning, I would be on my flight back to Australia. It is time for another journey after having lost some people and having gained some others over the course of the year. I look forward to what the near-future has in store. I do not have plans to come back for the next year, so it seems like it is goodbye for now, Singapore, you shall always be home.

