Freedom

by Jolyn Low

Life seems to pass at a different pace here. I have all the time in the world during my summer holidays to pursue things that I do not have the luxury of entertaining during the semester. My room is now neater and I dare call it home, and of course, I am learning so much all the time. This week I have seen a snake bite case, learnt how to use a stethoscope to listen for an animal’s heart rate, take its temperature and injected $800 anti-venom into an IV drip. Thankfully, the cat left the clinic very much alive.

Summer is my favourite season. I like to think that I am a summer child, for my birthday falls in the northern hemisphere’s summer. Here, it falls in winter and exam season but it is what it is. I love the warmth of the sun’s rays on my skin, as well as the occasional cool breeze and the cool mornings and nights. With this weather I would love to go to the beach with my friends, and we have and shall, and we will swim and people-watch, all the good things in life. I would drive about in the manual ride, and listen to summer songs on the radio. And I am starting to enjoy these drives to and fro alone mostly, for I get to exercise my independence and it is mostly relaxing. My car was out of fuel and stuck at the clinic so  we asked a nearby garage if we could borrow a jerry can and they sold me $12 worth of fuel. There’s always a first for everything, and this summer is and will be filled with so many of mine.

